top of page

Virtual Classes and Speech Repository: DG SCIC through the eyes of a trainee

Have you ever wondered what it's like to be a trainee at DG SCIC?Well, look no further because Clara Baruffati will tell us all about her experience there, including about how she deals with Speech Repository and helps organise SCIC's virtual classes.




First of all, thank you for taking the time to give the Apertis Verbis team this interview. The first question should be easy: could you, please, introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your background and language combination?


Sure, my name is Clara Baruffati and I am Scottish. My language combination is EN (A), FR (B) and I'm trying to add Italian as a C. I originally studied music as my undergraduate degree, after which I moved to France for 3 years. I then went back to Scotland to study an MSc degree in Interpreting and Translating (EN<>FR). My next stop was Milan for 8 months, then summer in Edinburgh before coming to Brussels.


What are you currently doing?


I am doing a 5-month traineeship with DG SCIC at the European Commission.


How has this experience been so far? What are your main tasks?


I absolutely love it. I work in unit C1 – Multilingualism and Interpreter Training Support. So we provide virtual classes to universities and we deal with the Speech Repository. My job involves contacting the universities to organise the classes (connectivity tests, information about the speeches, etc). For the Speech Repository, I help with organising the grading for the videos we upload online and I've even recorded a few speeches myself!


What are you enjoying most about the traineeship?


The people I meet. I have the opportunity to meet so many people from lots of different backgrounds. And of course, being an interpreting graduate myself, I absolutely love meeting the interpreters in the virtual classes! They give really helpful advice.


Why do you think the virtual classes provided by SCIC are important for interpreters in training?


In my opinion, they are important for 2 reasons. Firstly, the classes provide extra guidance to compliment what students learn at university. The feedback the interpreters give is very helpful and as they spend their days in the booth, they have first-hand knowledge of what is needed to succeed.

Secondly, for many students (but not all!), sitting the accreditation test at the EU is an objective so having the opportunity to perform in front of EU interpreters gives them a good idea of where they are and where they should be aiming for. We also hold virtual classes which are mock tests so that students can experience what the EU test would be like.


Did you also benefit from these virtual classes? How do you feel the feedback from EU interpreters complemented the one from your lecturers and fellow students?


Sadly I did not take part in a virtual class when I was at university however I have sat through several since I started my traineeship. Very often, we see that the feedback students receive from EU interpreters is often the same feedback their teachers have been giving them!


As part of your traineeship, you also deal with Speech Repository. Could you tell us a bit about this invaluable tool that SCIC offers, and how users can tailor it and customise their searches?


The Speech Repository is an online collection of recorded speeches. Most of the speeches have been recorded by EU interpreters (or trainees!), as well as teachers from the EMCI universities. There are also recordings from meetings held within the EU institutions.

Users can search using a wide range of criteria, such as language, speech level (basic to very advanced), use (consecutive/simultaneous) and domain (environment, technology, etc). I used this tool throughout my university studies and I continue to use it today.

It is also an excellent tool for those who are preparing for an accreditation test.


I completely agree, during my MA, my coursemates and I also used the Speech Repository, and it was really useful for exam practice, especially since you could select the difficulty yourself. What lessons have you learned from this experience at SCIC? What will you take with you after the traineeship ends?


First and foremost, I have learned the importance of networking. There are so many people who are more than willing to help you if you ask them. Meeting people from different units and different departments has allowed me to learn more about the European Commission as a whole and how it works – it is very interesting. Furthermore, the interpreters I have spoken to have given me fantastic advice on how to improve my skills. Seeing them at work has given me more determination and motivation, which I will take with me when I leave.


I can imagine you must have received some useful tips! What about your plans for the future, what are you planning on doing after you finish the traineeship?


I will be staying on in Brussels to freelance as an interpreter/translator and I'm hoping to apply for the EU accreditation test next year.


My last question is very fitting for a linguist: what is your favourite word in any of the languages you speak?


I have a favourite expression: 'La vie en rose' (life through rose-tinted glasses). I love it because it represents how I look at my life – always on the bright side!


Thank you, Clara for talking to us at Apertis Verbis. If you want to keep up with what Clara is doing and learn more about her, check out her LinkedIn profile.




Want to read more?

Tag Cloud
Non ci sono ancora tag.
bottom of page