top of page

It’s just like riding a bike…. or is it?


When I finished my final interpreting exams as part of my MA in Conference Interpreting and Translation Studies at Leeds University I’ll admit that my interpreting practice definitely took a summer break. Some people might think that interpreting is like riding a bike - I spent a year learning the skills so how could I possibly forget anything after a few weeks off? Well maybe my interpreting bike was safely sat there in the garage but the tyres needed pumping, the brakes needed testing and the chain needed some oil before I was ready to start off down the path as a freelancer.

Therefore, before I decided to start out freelancing I put a “practice diary” into place and I thought that perhaps this could prove interesting for other interpreting newbies like myself. Living in Leeds, I sadly cannot benefit from attending the Brussels Practice Group which I’m sure many of you have heard of, although I do hope that should I find myself in Brussels one day to become an avid member. They do however have videos online that can be a great practice tool. Throughout the Master’s and since I have been keeping my eyes and ears peeled for practice opportunities so here are some of the suggestions, please feel free to add your comments with any more ideas!

Speechpool (run by one of my fantastic interpreting trainers!)

Orcit

Speechrepository

Brussels Interpreter’s practice group YouTube Channel

Elysée live streams and recorded speeches

TED Talks

WISE practice weeks

Leeds EN IT Interpreting Practice Sessions YouTube Channel (organised by another of my fantastic interpreting trainers!)

Podcasts

Newspapers in all languages (online and print versions for sight translation + videos)

However, I would also like to point out that solo practice supplemented with group practice really is the best combination as it provides great opportunities for mutual feedback. When practising on my own I’ve found it useful to record my speeches and listen back to them in order to give myself more detailed feedback but obviously this works a lot better with another person. If you don’t have the opportunity to practice with others it’s a good idea to make a list of specific skills to focus on and pick one each time instead of just running through a few speeches to really hone your skills. Thanks to my course-mates and interpreting trainers I have now formed my own practice schedule that includes others I studied with via Skype and in person, other interpreters who are local or abroad via Skype and current/ex-students at the university this year which gives me a great opportunity to use the booths for practice – a luxury not many graduate interpreters looking to practice get to make the most of.

Finally, a bit like a car-log book (sorry my bicycle metaphor is wearing thin now), I’ve found it useful to keep a practice diary. This way, every week or so I can look back on the feedback I have given myself and others have given me to pinpoint the skills I need to work on next in order to keep improving and to make sure my practice is focussed and targeted. All of this practice effort has helped me to feel confident and complete my first jobs successfully, as well as keeping me motivated to continue working towards taking accreditation tests.


Want to read more?

Tag Cloud
Non ci sono ancora tag.
bottom of page